A mad hatter’s tea party of Dons and Dukes…reading Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford.

I have been intending to read Nancy Mitford’s Love in a Cold Climate for some time, way back last November I read The Pursuit of Love  – the first of Mitford’s three ‘companion novels’ – Love in a Cold Climate is the second of the three. The three novels are by no means sequels and are not written chronologically. In fact, The Pursuit of Love and Love in a Cold Climate run almost concurrently. Although the narrator is the same, Love in a Cold Climate tells a different story to The Pursuit of Love. Fanny Logan remains our constant, our narrator. In The Pursuit of Love Fanny tells the story of her cousin, Linda, and her quest to find love; whereas in Love in a Cold Climate Fanny tells the story of her friend Polly and Polly’s mother, Lady Montdore.

Love, as ever, remains Mitford’s central theme…whether or not her characters find it is, indeed, another matter. In fact, Mitford’s novels are ostensibly about romantic love and the search for a spouse or lover, but it is her depiction of love in its other forms that is perhaps more insightful. Mitford has a real knack for capturing families, in particular the wealthy upper-class families that inhabit her stories. Even for someone far removed from such a society, the relationships Mitford draws are recognisable and parallels are easily drawn. Families, whatever their wealth or social status, are…families. There will always be disagreements, idiosyncracies, disappointments and love. It is these aspects of love that Mitford so lovingly portrays.

Love in a Cold Climate is a story about the difference between infatuation and love. Time, as ever, proves to be the test. The loves and longings we carry through adolescence are not the loves of the real world and Love in a Cold Climate shows this. It also shows that as we become older we learn to love in many different ways. Love, in Mitford’s novels, does not come in one simple form, but rather layers itself through the lives of her characters. Each of Mitford’s characters is touched by love, whether they are the object of it or not.

As with The Pursuit of Love, Love in a Cold Climate holds many gems amongst its characters. The inimitable Uncle Matthew is still present, but I’ll spare you my ravings this time. Indeed, Love in a Cold Climate introduces us to other well-drawn, witty and comical characters. Cedric is a new addition, and an amusing one at that. His peculiar mix of pomposity and sincerity is initially confusing, but as you come to understand him better, and as he stands the test of loyalty and of time you come to appreciate Cedric. Reading Love in Cold Climate is certainly akin to  immersing oneself in a pool of gentrified eccentricity… a mad hatter’s tea party of Dons and Dukes… but to read it is also to bathe in the comforting world of family and its lifelong loves.

Nancy Mitford

I’ve enjoyed reading Love in a Cold Climate, although I would urge you to  read The Pursuit of Love first. The landscape of Love in a Cold Climate is much richer for having read The Pursuit of Love  and I think I would have found the novel far less enjoyable had I not done so. There is a final novel to complete the trio, The Blessing is Mitford’s end to the three ‘companion novels’ and I hold a secret (well, not-so-secret now) hope that it might tell the story of Fanny herself and that Mitford’s readers will be treated to the complete story of Fanny’s life and not just the tit-bits we scrabble to pick up through our reading of the first two novels. I intend to read it, although perhaps, not immediately. I’ll save it and indulge myself in the not too far distant future.

I’ve grown fond of Nancy Mitford and her characters. They allow a snapshot into another world, a world of aristocracy and wealth. It’s easy to imagine that Mitford’s readers could come to resent the characters they find on her pages, but no, there is something so endearing and loveable about the way Mitford depicts them that it’d be hard not to love them. In particular, Fanny, and  her cousins the Radletts, whose wacky way of life and quirky wit quickly cause you to develop a fond attachment to them. You don’t forget them in a hurry and returning to read about them again after months apart was very much like stepping into a room of extended family who you have not seen for a while…faults and foibles abound, but it is these very things which you soon come to love.

“You’ve no idea how long life goes on and how many, many changes it brings. Young people seem to imagine that it’s over in a flash, that they do this thing, or that thing, and then die, but I can assure you they are quite wrong.”

Nancy Mitford, Love in a Cold Climate

I read Love in a Cold Climate as part of the ‘Back to the Classics Challenge’ in the category of ‘Classic Romance’. I move on to If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller  by Italo Calvino

8 Comments

Filed under 20th century, Back to the Classics Challenge, Books, Fiction, Nancy Mitford, Novel

8 responses to “A mad hatter’s tea party of Dons and Dukes…reading Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford.

  1. Pingback: Blessings and disguises…a review of Nancy Mitford’s The Blessing | In my good books...

  2. Pingback: Ruthless fidelity…a review of The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. | In my good books...

  3. Pingback: Deception and delusion…reading My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier. | In my good books…

  4. I absolutely adored these books, The Pursuit of Love was probably my favourite. The Blessing is really funny and then Don’t Tell Alfred was great because it was all about Fanny’s life. I couldn’t spread them out though – I ended up reading one straight after another! I’ve been struggling to find something good to read whilst I am moving house – so thank you for this post because you’ve made me realise that re-reading these will be perfect!

    Like

    • 🙂 It’s lovely to hear someone else who likes these books as much as I do. They really are entertaining and unexpectedly funny. I love her characters – how unique they are and how they make me laugh out loud. I’m looking forward to reading The Blessing and think after that glowing recommendation I’ll have to read Don’t Tell Alfred too! I hope your move goes okay and that you enjoy your re-reading. 🙂

      Like

  5. Great pos! I love Nancy Mitford’s writing, and have read both The Pursuit of Love and Don’t tell Alfred. Love in a Cold Climate and The Blessing are on my bookshelf so I must get round to them soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

