An industrious romance…North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

Well, it’s taken me a month but I have finished reading North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell. I originally bought it following a recommendation I had had from a fellow blogger who described it as a “Victorian rewrite of Pride and Prejudice”. I can see what they meant. North and South is very much concerned with the morality and pride of its leading lady and gentleman (not to mention the other characters!). In the same way as Mr Darcy, Gaskell’s heroine, Margaret, is somewhat blind to her own faults and vanities. As one might expect from a Victorian novel, North and South does dwell upon right and wrong, good and evil, generosity and vice, but as the book also boasts a solid plot, believable characters and a healthy dollop of good old romance the passages which dwell heavily on moralistic considerations are fairly palatable, even for the modern reader.

As for the Janeites out there, sadly I can’t award North and South with having the same wicked wit and shrewd character  depictions of Austen’s novels, but it is certainly an agreeable book to read. Gaskell’s prose does lack that tempo that Austen uses so well and there’s none of that droll repartee that I dearly love in Austen’s writing, but North and South does have something, its own charms, if you like. Like Austen’s works, North and South is narrated by an omniscient narrator and, thus her readers are allowed to peep into the mind of both hero and heroine and perceive exactly what they each feel at any given moment. This, I feel, is something that most modern romance writing seems to overlook, so many contemporary romances are written in first-person narration and allow their readers only to perceive the (usually neurotic) thoughts of the heroine. As a result of Gaskell’s narration, North and South’s readers become familiar with the internal convictions of both Margaret and Mr Thornton and the romance is all the richer for it.

As for Margaret Hale, she is a strong leading lady. She’s not the meek, affected society beauty (like her cousin Edith); Margaret is a brave, commanding woman with a real conviction of self. After all, she only succumbs to one swoon throughout the entire novel and, even then, there’s nobody there to see it. I think I may take up swooning when I’m next at Tesco (I hate supermarket shopping with a passion, it stresses me out beyond measure), although I doubt my swooning would provoke the same reaction as a Victorian lady’s, I’d probably just get trampled as people stampeded for the new loo roll on buy-one-get-one-free; but, I have diverted, back to Margaret. She’s no Elizabeth Bennet, but she is a heroine to admire and respect. Sure, she makes some silly mistakes and is frequently blind to her own foolishness, but she is looked up to by the characters around her and has real gumption (to use a word that didn’t even exist at the time Gaskell was writing). In fact, I would go so far as to say that gumption is the ideal word with which to describe Margaret Hale. Indeed, another observation I’ve made while reading classic romances such as North and South and Jamaica Inn is that modern romantic heroines seem to be a little lacking in gumption. Take Bridget Jones, for example – I do love her dearly, but she is sadly lacking in that self-assurance and conviction that so many classic heroines possess in such abundance. Why is it that modern romance’s depiction of women seems to be the neurotic worrier who can’t make a decision without consulting a war council of friends and self-help manuals? I don’t think women have changed so fundamentally over time, so why is it that the modern equivalent of Margaret Hale – strong, independent women of conviction – are no longer the fodder for romantic heroines? But that’s a rant for another day.

I think if North and South had been written today, a more accurate title might have been Urban and Rural, indeed, the novel does compare and contrast the differences in the lifestyle and the inhabitants of Milton, a Northern factory town, and Helstone, a Southern country village. Gaskell highlights the fact that there are hardships to be borne in either location and rich and poor live alongside each other and depend upon each other in both settings. It is the varying prejudices and presumptions that the inhabitants of each possess towards the other that is, perhaps, most amusing. The blindnesses of each are depicted with care, take, for example, the instance when Margaret is forced to explain to a Milton mill worker that were he to seek work in the southern countryside he would have to become accustomed to back-breaking work and lower wages, whether or not the absence of factory chimneys and dirty air are worth this is left to the individual to determine. Indeed the problems of Milton’s labouring poor and their mill-owning masters is one of the most rewarding aspects of Gaskell’s novel. Indeed, the social difficulties of Margaret Hale’s world are not so very different from my own world. Almost two centuries later the same problems are still being faced generation after generation, workers are still striking, the Unions are still baying, indeed, there are some intelligently told lessons to be learned from the pen of this Victorian minister’s daughter.

I enjoyed reading North and South, it kept me interested and entertained throughout. After I had accepted that Gaskell was never going to employ such an enjoyable writing style as Austen, I took North and South for what it was…a worthy classic romance with an entertaining plot, an engaging insight into Victorian industrial society, and a credible and compelling romance. That’s a ‘thumbs-up’ from me.

I read this book as part of Back to the Classics Challenge 2012 in the category of 19th Century Classic.

I move on to something a little different for In My Good Books…, a play, Oscar Wilde’s An Ideal Husband.

8 Comments

Filed under 19th century, Back to the Classics Challenge, Books, Elizabeth Gaskell, Fiction, Novel

8 responses to “An industrious romance…North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell.

  1. S.chan

    I think North & South is a lot more romantic than Austen’s novels precisely because it doesn’t have any of her wit or satire. Her clear eye and sharp tongue makes for great flirting scenes, but it’s hard to set romance with that tone. Like in Northanger Abbey when she says something along the lines of an affectionate, guileless girl will always attract clever men- it explains why Henry and Catherine love each other but there’s hardly any romance in that sentiment. If that makes sense.

    As for why the composition of heroines changed from then to now…in a word, ‘Feminism’. Women back then had no privileges, and writing strong minded women who made their own place in the world was an outlet. Nowadays, women are under a lot of pressure to be ‘strong’ and ‘have it all’, so the reaction is to create characters that are highly vulnerable, weak-willed, and inspire men to come to their protection. It’s not that women were stronger then, it’s just that since most writing is wish-fulfillment it’s more of a reflection on the social psyche.

    This is only for white women writers though. I’m sure if you follow the trajectory of WoC writers through history, the analysis and conclusion would be different.

    Just my opinion of course. Please feel free to disagree 🙂

    Like

    • Hi, thanks for commenting! 🙂

      You make some really interesting points. I think your thoughts on the changing nature of literary heroines are very shrewd. Thanks for sharing!

      Where Austen & Gaskell are concerned, though I love reading them both, I’m afraid I’ll always be more fond of Austen. I do appreciate that her wit and satire can make for a less sincere romance, but I don’t think I read Austen for its romance. I will always love her penetrating characterisation and dry style of writing. In a nutshell, I’m just as captivated by her descriptions of Mr Collins as by those of Mr Darcy. As for the quote you recall from ‘Northanger Abbey’, I agree that it’s a long way from romantic, whether or not it’s so far away from the truth is another matter entirely.

      Again, thanks for commenting – I love hearing what other people think about the books I read. 🙂

      Like

  2. FleurFisher

    A month well spend, I’d say. I agree that Mrs Gaskell doesn;t have the wit of Miss Austen, but she still has the power to sweep me away with her storytelling.

    Like

    • Hey, thanks for stopping by. You’re right, it was a month well spent! I really enjoyed North and South, I’ve just started watching the BBC adaptation, only seen the first two episodes so far…waiting for LoveFilm to send the next disc now. Have you seen it?

      Like

  3. Thanks for this review! Having recently read P&P, I like the comparisons you have made! I’ve made plans to read this in the next 5 years as part of the Classics Club… have you heard of it? You may be interested…. Jillian from A Room of One’s Own has created it.

    Like

  4. I’ve heard more and more about this novel recently and am really starting to look forward to reading it! Also, as an aside, I LOVE the North and South signs from the UK, that was one of the best things about driving over there – just seeing on a sign ‘The North’ or ‘The South’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

