A trip to the library.

Well, I’ve been a bit naughty today and only read the prologue and first few pages of Middlemarch, but in my defence I only made it to the library to stock up on books this afternoon. I had a nice tete-a-tete with the librarian about The Five People You Meet in Heaven, turns out she’s a fan as well. Then another woman overheard us and asked what book we were talking about…the word is spreading.

I’ve ordered more books in as well, getting myself organised. Last time I went the librarian warned me that Middlemarch was going to be a long read, obviously I didn’t look up to the job, this only served to make me more determined to read it and so Middlemarch became destined to be my next book. I think, perhaps, it is going to be more of a challenge than the books I’ve read so far, for one it’s the oldest book I’ve tackled…I’ll be able to add a 19th century category to the blog. Also, the story looks a lot broader (although, how can any story be broader than Orlando? Hmm). Suffice to say I haven’t been put off by the pages I’ve read so far, but neither have I been gripped. We shall see.

Book number four…Middlemarch by George Eliot.

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Fiction, George Eliot, Mitch Albom, Novel

4 responses to “A trip to the library.

  1. Matt

    If you’re reading something as long as Middlemarch why not try Wolf Hall or The Crimson Petal and the White? 😉 I heard critics compared Wolf Hall to Middlemarch. I thought it was fairly good but a bit overhyped.

    Like

  2. theveryhungrybookworm

    Middlemarch is one of those books that you take a while to get into, but then you just want to keep reading. Keep fighting the good fight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

